Damien’s Journal – 1/23/13

Something weird has been happening. I haven’t been keeping this up to date because I’m not sure if this is even safe. I don’t honestly know if there is any such thing as “safe” anymore. We came home after a trip to Alaska to find two strange men in our apartment. How they got in, I don’t know. The doors were locked and obviously not tampered with.  It was the same with the windows.  The only conclusion we could come to was that they had been in our apartment before and transferred in.  The weird thing is, only one of them was a Knight.

We walked in, completely unaware that there were two men sitting on our couch in the living room. We did as we always do, and went straight to our bedrooms to drop off our luggage. We learned that you get pretty strange looks at the airport when you travel long distances with no luggage. I was just starting to change clothes when I heard Jason shout, “Who the hell are you?”

I transferred right next to him only to find two men standing up and slowly turning to face us.  Neither one of them said a word for what seemed like an eternity, but there was something eerily odd about them that caused us to remain silent as well. They both looked to be around our age, but there was something strange about their mannerisms and the way they looked at us.  One had the Knight blue eyes and black hair, but the other had brown hair and hazel eyes that seemed as if they were boring straight into our souls. It almost felt like an assault, as if he was trying to rip our souls out of us.

Finally, the Knight, spoke. He introduced himself as William and the other as Robert.  No last name, we normally don’t have to give our last names when we meet each other like this because normally we are all Knights. He asked for forgiveness for their intrusion and waved his hand to the side asking if we would sit.

I looked at Jason and could tell he was just as freaked out as I was.  We both cautiously walked around the couch and sat down.  Another moment of silence began as the feeling of some strong bodily intrusion began again. I tried not to look them in the face because that seemed to make it worse. Instead, I looked down at our round glass coffee table and saw Jason’s journal sitting there, open to what was apparently his last journal entry. My temper instantly started to flare up and I stood up, but just as I was about to speak, William interrupted me.

He told me to sit down and that I had nothing to worry about. There is nothing that takes place in our family that he does not know about.  In fact, he is the one that is responsible for our “unique” assignments. I was instantly confused.  We were always led to believe that our assignments were given to us by God himself, and that is what made us unique because we were chosen by God and found worthy of the assignment.

I didn’t have to say a word, Robert spoke before I could get my tongue to move and said, “You are chosen and you have been found worthy, this does not, by no means, devalue you or your assignment in any way.  In fact, it means that you have been found to be worthy of a much greater role in your family. What my friend meant to say was that we asked for assistance and God supplied us with you and Jason.  It is an honor to be chosen as you have and we are quite aware that you are still confused about the particular nature of your assignments. As well you should be, because no one has ever received something as unique and vital to the survival of us all.”

Just as I was about to ask another question, William spoke up and said, “This will be our only meeting.  It is not safe for us to meet as such. As unique as your  assignments are, we hold an even more unique and vital role in our family and we must ask that you never speak of this meeting to another soul. We have chosen to introduce ourselves to you because from this time forward, we will be the ones issuing your assignments.  We wanted you to know that you could trust us and to not fear us. Very few know of our particular roles and even fewer know we exist.  It is of extreme importance that it remains that way. What we require of you, is no different than what is required of every other Knight. You must do as you are assigned and not seek out the reasons why.  Just know now that everything you do will assure that our family continues to carry on with their responsibilities in safety. This world is changing rapidly and we must do everything we can to assure that our family is not discovered.”

They both stood up and gave us their hands.  Jason and I both stood up in complete confusion and shook their hands.

“Continue as you are, learning as much of this world as you can, and fine tuning your ability to be discreet and unnoticed, even from among our family. Our family has often referred to ourselves as the shadows among the world, the more you learn to be nothing more than a shadow, the easier your tasks will be.”

And then they were gone. We just stood there staring at the emptiness in complete shock. Finally, we just sat down but neither one of us spoke.  My mind was going  crazy.  Part of me was glad that at least we finally had some answers as to what it was we were supposed to be doing, but at the same time, something felt wrong. For one, Robert was not a Knight and it is forbidden for someone outside of the family to know about us. On top of that, it was obvious that the man was not normal, even by our standards.  It even seemed like he was reading my mind. I don’t really know what to think about all this.

I’ve been afraid to write anything for the past couple of weeks. They actually read Jason’s journal which, to me, feels like a blatant disregard of his privacy. I worry what they might think about not finding mine. What will they do when they find out that I’m keeping an online journal instead? But the more I thought about it, I realized that this may very well be the only way I can keep them from reading it. God only knows what they are capable of. No matter how much I want to believe I can trust them, I can’t. I don’t know if that Robert can read my mind or not.  I’m just going to have to do everything I can to keep him from finding out about it.  Maybe if I just don’t think about it, but then again, that makes you think about something even more. Maybe if I can come up with some random way of changing my password, so I don’t even know it without having to look it up each time, they will at least not be able to log into it and read it. Life just keeps getting crazier and crazier.  It’s easy when you actually know who your real enemies are.

Previous Post<-

~ by Stephanie Laws on January 23, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
